Checked out xxx lately?

So – have you checked out http://app.net yet? Seems interesting since I am no longer on facebook. Also – I am thinking to downoload a trial version of http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omnigraffle/ . It seems to be running only on mac. Have you ever tried it? Maybe it is a good alternative to Balsamiq? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checked out xxx lately?

  1. Krista says:

    I did not know app.net existed before today. I´ve been reading about it and discovered it´s supposedly twitter-like, just without advertisement and not free. I can see the attraction for certain demographics. I think the idea to have the users be the customer and not the advertiser is a great one. All of society is way too advertisement-in-your-face driven. If this was more facebook-like I might be interested but I never found twitter to be all that interesting, I certainly would not pay for a twitter-like product.
    I have never tried Omnigraffle (don´t have a mac:) but I have tried Balsamiq. I quite liked Balsamiq. It is quick and easy to use. My main issue with Balsamiq is that it is too limiting. I can only use shapes that pre-exist and they do not have shapes for all occasions. It would be great if in Balsamic users could create their own content to some extend. I do not know Omnigraffle much (just from their website and good’ol wikipedia) but it seems to me Omnigraffle is for making diagrams while Balsamiq is for mockups. Perhaps Omnigraffe is more versatile and good for mock ups as well?

  2. torilll says:

    About Omnigraffle vs Balsamiq – I tried Omnigraffle out a bit and it is not as quick as Balsamiq, thus offering more possibilities so I think you would find it less limiting. Yes, Omnigraffle is for diagrams, but also for Mock-ups – it has drawing functions and operates with layers. I will post a firt kind of suggestion I have made for at site that I am planning to code. Coming up next possibly. 🙂

  3. torill says:

    I tried to sign up for app.net, got happy when I saw that I could use my name as username, but unfortunately they don´t offer a free trial period. I do not want to pay before I am more sure about what I am getting – or maybe I have to before somone else takes my name.

    So, you don´t like Twitter – hm? 😉 I simply love Twitter, I think it is the best media I have got, since I always find links to interesting news and find new people to follow all the time. So far I have gathered a lot of interesting UX people to follow.

    • snaebra says:

      Hehe, you are always the first to adapt to new technology. I was impressed when I saw you had your own name for email at a popular email service:)
      I would think it would be smart for app.net to use free trial period to add to their user base. The first threshold they have to cross as a new technology provider is not to get people to pay for their service, it is to have enough of a user base so people see the value of using their product for their social net. With more users and people seeing the value of their product by using it, I´m sure most of their “free” users wouldn’t mind paying for it later on.

      I never saw enough value in twitter for me to continue to use. My primary use of facebook was to use it as a social calendar. With facebook I would have access to available events that I wouldn’t otherwise know about and would forget about if facebook wasn’t keeping track of that for me. As a plus to that I’d use facebook to find interesting links that people post, to communicate and to look at picture albums like a creepy stalker:) My experience with twitter (which is very low, I just checked it out a couple of times) is that it shows only statuses that people post and that didn’t really interest me. I do see though, from your post, that twitter offers more value for those who know how to look for it. I f.x did not think of I could use twitter to follow interesting UX people…

Leave a Reply

